Knowledge is spreading

There have been a lot of posts on blogs in the last week or so about birth rape. Unfortunately, there are still a lot of people who think it’s impossible for doctors/midwives/nurses to do do something so wrong that it can feel like rape. The more this subject is talked about, the more understanding and acknowledgement there will be and then maybe we can stop this kind of treatment from happending to others.

Here’s a round-up of the posts about birth rape I’ve seen in the last little while. The comments on some of these (especially the post at Jezebel) are pretty harsh sometimes, so please beware if you’re feeling sensitive. If I’ve missed one, please let me know. And if you’d like to share your story, please go to my submissions page for info.

Birthrape. Birthrape. Birthrape. Birthrape. Birthrape. on Joyous Birth

Birth rights on the Brisbane Times

Birth Rape at Cassie the Doula’s site

When I say No at Bellies and Babies

What Is “Birth Rape”? at Jezebel

And edited to add this great post. It also has some wonderful, thought provoking comments.
On Birth Rape, Definitions, and Language Policing at The Curvature

4 comments on “Knowledge is spreading

  1. Thanks so much for posting this – I shared it on my blog’s facebook page. Good to have a list of good resources on the subject to spread awareness and promote prevention and empowerment.

  2. Thanks so much for writing this. I was attended to by three female doctors in a fancy private hospital and felt so violated after my experience (13 hours of labour, very rough internals, pasted smiles from those hateful women) that it took more than a year for me to connect with my child. After the ordeal my parents were the only ones who said this is not the way it’s supposed to go, with everyone else going on about that’s how it is, be strong you’re a mother now, it’s like that in all hospitals. I was made to feel like a whiny, spoilt weak person for bringing it up at all, it is apparently the more polite, graceful thing to do by shutting up about it. I found out later from a few other women who’d been to the same doctor how horrible their experiences went. They refused to pursue the matter, but every pregnant woman I meet I ask nosy questions and make sure they hear about my experience. Reading some of the accounts however, i’d consider myself lucky I got away with a safe caesarian, the doctor was so incompetent she couldn’t tell I needed an emergency caesarian until I asked for it. My child had to be resuscitated, and they conveniently left that out of the post-partum report, which means they really didn’t know what was going on. And these were all women, mind you, the main doctor going on about how fat I was and needed to lose weight.

    • Thank you for sharing your story. I’m so sorry you had to endure that. If it was fairly recently, you could report them to the medical board. There probably wouldn’t be anything done, sadly, but if enough people reported, eventually something would have to be done.

  3. I’m Indian, and part of the Indian equivalent of female grace is how much shit you can take without complaining about it. In fact a lot of women I’ve spoken to about it look at me like I’m a shrieking banshee and why don’t I just calm down and forget about it like they did. All they want to do is to put it behind them, not do anything or even speak about it because their families probably would consider it a nuisance, besides, the baby’s okay right? Childbirth in this country is never about the woman. Post-birth, however they have a bunch of traditional recovery processes lined up. They don’t realize that if they make the actual childbirth about the mother, it’s automatically beneficial for the baby. The primary matter concern for most of the women I’ve spoken to is weight loss and stretch marks. I feel helpless when my Indian sisters don’t consider this a problem enough to even confront the issue and acknowledge it as a problem.
    My anger only abated when I heard that that shitty hospital was getting sued for botching one poor woman’s birth. They didn’t give her a cesaerian in time, forced her to give birth to a large baby vaginally. The baby was born with problems and she can’t give birth again.

Leave a Reply

